UOM students selected for the finals of the Africa Fact-Checking Awards 2023

Happy to share that my students, Komagal Chocalingum, Aurore George and Suhaasinee Permalloo, have been selected in the finals for the Africa Fact-Checking Awards 2023 in the Student Category for the following fact-check:

The fact-check was done as part of an assignment for my module Digital Journalism which I teach in Year 3 of the BSc (Hons) Journalism programme at the University of Mauritius.

Due to the amended calendar for this academic year, my students had very limited time to find a proper claim and to complete the fact-check. Yet that team managed to make it to the finals of the 2023 edition of the Awards.

This is the third time that I have taught fact-checking at the University. In 2021, a team made it to the selections. In 2022, a team won the first prize and another student won the second prize.

So, I wish good luck to the students this year for the 2023 edition! Hope they make us proud again!

Leave a comment